General Union sign agreement with Gaba, recruit new members

June 4, 2012 at 2:50 am 3 comments

I haven’t had time to update this blog recently, but after receiving a leaflet from the general union I wanted to post it up for people to see. I have been given a few union leaflets before, but this one definitely looks more professional. It has some interesting news too – apparently the union and Gaba signed some kind of agreement in in April. I didn’t notice anything changing at my ls so I am not sure what the details are, but apparently both sides have withdrawn legal cases against each other. It also talked about how the general union is part of a much bigger union called “Zenrokyo” which has more than 100,000 members all over Japan. I didn’t know that, I thought the union was very small.

The leaflet also mentioned some improvements that the union was responsible for at other places. I hadn’t realized they were working at so many other places. It seems they also have some new members too. The instructor I got the leaflet from said that the union recently had negotiations with the company and are trying to get some improvements for us. We’ll see what happens but that sounds a lot more promising that what I’ve heard before. It said the union wants to keep flexibility, which is good to hear.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A new president Sexual harassment at Gaba?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Grinch  |  June 4, 2012 at 4:50 am

    Glad they want flexibility to stay i dont want to work a fixed schedule.

    Reply
  • 2. anonymous  |  June 11, 2012 at 6:03 am

    My ISL told me that we couldn’t get any of those benefits ‘because you are itaku’. I don’t think that’s true, Gaba is just cheap. At least I want transport pay, it is insulting that they don’t pay it, and then imply that we should be grateful because we have “flexibility”. The other day my ISL was refusing to open another instructor’s schedule unless they opened basically all day. And our LS isn’t so busy anyway, so there will be a lot of unbooked lessons. Where is our flexibility again?

    Reply
  • 3. Lee  |  January 29, 2013 at 4:33 am

    Hi,

    I’m pretty new to this. I’m thinking about taking a job at Gaba, but I feel a bit apprehensive after reading some of the posts here.

    I was just wondering if anyone had a copy of their employment contract? I’d like to read it over.

    (Of course, you can remove your name on the contract.)

    If anyone has one, you can e-mail it to me at:
    teachinjapan.lee@gmail.com

    Anyhow. I really appreciate your help. Thank you so much in advance!

    Lee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 23,190 hits

